Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum Right Header

Go Back Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum > Software > Operating Systems

Operating Systems Discuss the latest bug, patch, or new release in this section.

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Unread 14th October 2010, 06:29 PM
Daryl Greene Daryl Greene is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Cackilacky
Posts: 232
Send a message via ICQ to Daryl Greene Send a message via AIM to Daryl Greene Send a message via MSN to Daryl Greene Send a message via Yahoo to Daryl Greene Send a message via Skype™ to Daryl Greene
Windblows 7

My oldest bought one of those family packs and made a copy of the win7 64 disk and sent it to me. The problem is that it isn't bootable and will not run from within XP. What can I do to make a copy of these files bootable? I think he just copied the files off the dvd and burned them to a new disk and apparently that isn't the proper way to make a working copy. Any help?
Reply With Quote
#2
Unread 14th October 2010, 08:24 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
He didn't make a true image copy... common rookie mistake. Use a program to create an ISO disc image, and burn from that. Your current DVD is worthless.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#3
Unread 14th October 2010, 08:41 PM
Daryl Greene Daryl Greene is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Cackilacky
Posts: 232
Send a message via ICQ to Daryl Greene Send a message via AIM to Daryl Greene Send a message via MSN to Daryl Greene Send a message via Yahoo to Daryl Greene Send a message via Skype™ to Daryl Greene
Never had to do anything like that with XP. All I ever did was copy the files to my HDD and burn it from there. So, no way to correct it. Oh well, I guess I'll just stick with XP fpr a while longer. Since I got that scam antivirus program off my PC, nothing has been right. Have no desire to reinstall XP so I can use some lost programs to just turn around and do this all over again.

I lost a HDD recently that had OpenOffice on it and now can't reinstall it because my PC thinks it is still installed. I need it for some of the restaurant's bookwork. I am WAY behind on that.

Can you give us a proper guide to burn it properly? Remacno doesn't know what to do and as I said, I have never had to do anything like that before.
Reply With Quote
#4
Unread 15th October 2010, 01:39 AM
Steven Iglesias-Hearst's Avatar
Steven Iglesias-Hearst Steven Iglesias-Hearst is offline
Contributing Editor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl Greene View Post
Never had to do anything like that with XP. All I ever did was copy the files to my HDD and burn it from there. So, no way to correct it. Oh well, I guess I'll just stick with XP fpr a while longer. Since I got that scam antivirus program off my PC, nothing has been right. Have no desire to reinstall XP so I can use some lost programs to just turn around and do this all over again.

I lost a HDD recently that had OpenOffice on it and now can't reinstall it because my PC thinks it is still installed. I need it for some of the restaurant's bookwork. I am WAY behind on that.

Can you give us a proper guide to burn it properly? Remacno doesn't know what to do and as I said, I have never had to do anything like that before.
Tell him to send you the original and send it back when you are done, or would that cost too much?
__________________
Reply With Quote
#5
Unread 15th October 2010, 09:11 AM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Lol Alright...so I need to create the copied files as an ISO before burning it?
Also, the most important question is, would this copy be usable on a system that does not have an OS or is it only available to install from within Windblows?
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#6
Unread 15th October 2010, 03:37 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl Greene View Post
Never had to do anything like that with XP.
Actually, yes you did. It's been this way ever since Windows 2000.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#7
Unread 15th October 2010, 03:39 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remacno View Post
Lol Alright...so I need to create the copied files as an ISO before burning it?
Also, the most important question is, would this copy be usable on a system that does not have an OS or is it only available to install from within Windblows?
If you don't know how to make an ISO image of a CD or DVD, it's time you pressed 'help' on your burning program of choice. Either that or search Google, which will probably offer about ten million results.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#8
Unread 15th October 2010, 03:56 PM
Steven Iglesias-Hearst's Avatar
Steven Iglesias-Hearst Steven Iglesias-Hearst is offline
Contributing Editor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olin Coles View Post
If you don't know how to make an ISO image of a CD or DVD, it's time you pressed 'help' on your burning program of choice. Either that or search Google, which will probably offer about ten million results.
+1

<PARADOX>one day someone wanting to know how to make an ISO might get re-directed here and be none the wiser for their effort.</PARADOX>
__________________
Reply With Quote
#9
Unread 15th October 2010, 07:35 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Iglesias-Hearst View Post
<PARADOX>one day someone wanting to know how to make an ISO might get re-directed here and be none the wiser for their effort.</PARADOX>
Point taken. Download a trail version of Alcohol 120%, or Nero Burning ROM. Both will work extremely well for making a disc image in only a few basic steps through the main menu.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#10
Unread 15th October 2010, 08:23 PM
Daryl Greene Daryl Greene is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Cackilacky
Posts: 232
Send a message via ICQ to Daryl Greene Send a message via AIM to Daryl Greene Send a message via MSN to Daryl Greene Send a message via Yahoo to Daryl Greene Send a message via Skype™ to Daryl Greene
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olin Coles View Post
Actually, yes you did. It's been this way ever since Windows 2000.
Honestly, I never have. As I said, I just copied to my HDD and then burned it to a disk. No .iso trick, just straight copied. If what you say is true, I have no clue why it worked until now.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Remove advertisements

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter