Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum Right Header

Go Back Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum > Hardware > Computer System Hardware

Computer System Hardware If it belongs inside the computer, you can discuss it here.

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Unread 16th March 2013, 04:11 PM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Video Card Issues...

I am having a problem getting video to display on my new computer build. All of the cords are hooked up correctly and everything seems to be running properly, however, my monitor just keeps entering power save mode whenever I turn on the computer. The motherboard has integrated graphics and I have the new graphics card and neither of them are working. Any ideas?

These are the parts in my new build:
Thermaltake V4 Mid-Tower Case, Black
OCZ 700W ModXStream Pro Power Supply
Diamond Multimedia ATI Radeon HD 6570 2GB GDDR3 PCI 2.1 Graphics Card
AMD Athlon II X2 Dual-core 260 3.2GHz Processor
ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS DDR3 Motherboard
Seagate HDD 100+ GB (Not sure the exact size, never checked.)
4GB 2x2GB Gskill Ripsaw DDR3 RAM

The motherboard, I know, is a little small for a mid tower case, but it has enough ports for me to be able to do everything that I need it to do, but I am not sure if that could be the problem.
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#2
Unread 17th March 2013, 11:12 AM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Boot into safe mode, and adjust the monitor's refresh rate and resolution.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#3
Unread 17th March 2013, 05:30 PM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
That's the problem. I have no image. My monitor keeps entering power save mode, so I can't actually get to the boot screen. I don't know what the heck is going on with this thing. I'm about friggin' pissed here.
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#4
Unread 18th March 2013, 06:35 AM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Alright. I went back and double checked all of the connections. The motherboard seems to be find, the video card is working, as well as the integrated. The monitor actually sees that I am connecting it, but it's going into power save mode as soon as it comes on. The motherboard makes a single beep sound which, from what I have heard, is a sign that the motherboard is detecting the BIOS and that it is working. So I have no idea why my monitor is not turning on. I'm really itching to play with this build but I am getting nowhere. It uses both a 4-pin and a 16-pin (12-pin + 4-pin) power connector and those connections are secure. The fans, lights, everything comes on just fine. Any suggestions for what to do next?
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#5
Unread 18th March 2013, 06:49 AM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Alright. Something that I just read about the powersupply shutting down any high energy peripherals. Is it possible that my monitor, a Dell ST2210, is taking too much power and the powersupply is immediately shutting it down? If that's the case, then I may need a 750 or 775 power supply instead of the 700. Thoughts? (Sorry about double posting.)
If I do need a new power supply, how about this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817342033
__________________
Cameron Greene

Last edited by Remacno : 18th March 2013 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
#6
Unread 18th March 2013, 08:19 AM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
I suggest plugging in a different monitor, and if it work fine then the PC is good. If the second monitor also fails to display, then it's the PC.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#7
Unread 18th March 2013, 08:30 AM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
I've actually tried 2 monitors already. One was the ACER monitor that I just sold. This one is the Dell ST2210. The only thing that I have come across that says that the only problem it could be is the power save functions on the power supply if it is too weak to run all of the main components, it will shut down the excess peripherals which would usually be the monitor. I am going to try ordering the 800w and give that a shot. If that's not it, I will order a new motherboard.
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#8
Unread 18th March 2013, 08:32 AM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
If you've tried two other monitors already, why haven't you mentioned that or the results of their tests?
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#9
Unread 18th March 2013, 06:35 PM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
The results are the same for them both. They both go into powersave mode as soon as it's connected. Otherwise, if you turn them on without them being connected, you see a floating screen that says "No DVI connected."
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#10
Unread 18th March 2013, 07:19 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Changing the PSU is probably not going to fix this. The system uses very little power at idle, and I HIGHLY doubt your new system could ever pull more than 400W under full load.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Remove advertisements

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter