Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum Right Header

Go Back Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum > Software > Operating Systems

Operating Systems Discuss the latest bug, patch, or new release in this section.

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Unread 8th March 2013, 05:05 PM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Motherboard will only boot from CD/DVD.

I built this computer a few years ago, but recently built a new computer to throw my hard drive in. I put my mother's hard drive in my old build. I reset the BIOS to its original settings and adjusted the boot order to the following:
First: Hard Disk
Second: CDROM
I have not third boot option, even disabled it since I don't need it.
After saving my BIOS settings and restarting the computer, I allow it to attempt to boot, and it still says Boot from CD/DVD. If I re-enter the BIOS settings and check the boot order, it still says what I set it to, but only boots from CD/DVD first.
The hard drive is detected, the CD/DVD drive is detected and will allow it to boot with the installation disc in the drive. I have not tried to install Windows 7 on the hard drive, yet. Would that make a difference on the boot order since the hard drive is nothing more than a blank slate at the moment?
My motherboard is a Gigabyte EP43.
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#2
Unread 8th March 2013, 07:59 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Does the BIOS see that hard drive? It sounds like it's not finding any device on the SATA connectors.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#3
Unread 9th March 2013, 04:49 AM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Actually. I think that I know what the problem is. Yes, the BIOS does detect the hard drive, but will not boot from it regardless of whether I have it set as primary boot option because the drive is new. Nothing is installed on it. It could also be freezing when I insert the thumb drive because there are no drivers installed for the USB controllers?

Just a thought. Getting a new copy of Windows 7 for my mom's computer to install on the hard drive since the hard drive is detectable in the Windows Install menu and the BIOS.

Not too familiar with the system part of a new computer build, so I am thinking that my problem is fairly simple just like the last 4 were. Lol

On another note. If I used the Win 7 disc that I am buying to install a copy on my computer as a full install but do not activate it, can I install my Win 7 upgrade package or does the original install have to be activated?
__________________
Cameron Greene

Last edited by Remacno : 9th March 2013 at 05:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
#4
Unread 9th March 2013, 04:32 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
We wrote a whole guide on how to use an ungrade version for full install here: Microsoft Windows 7 Upgrade and Installation
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#5
Unread 9th March 2013, 05:01 PM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
I know how to do it as a full install and trick the system into activating. Figured that one out myself. The only problem is that I want to do a full install and upgrade to 64-bit, since a clean install will only allow me to go 32-bit.

But the other problem sounds right? Won't attempt anything but CD/DVD since the computer is bare and no drives are installed?
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#6
Unread 10th March 2013, 07:56 AM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Why would you install 32-bit and then upgrade to 64-bit? You're much better off installing 64-bit right from the start.

If there's no partition on the HDD then it will skip past it in the POST boot.
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#7
Unread 10th March 2013, 11:18 AM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Well. I could swear that I tried doing a 64-bit clean install with my upgrade pack before, but it told me that I had to have a 32-bit install already in place to upgrade. I could be wrong. A friend is giving me a "corporate" copy of Windows 7 32 and 64 bit today, so I will no longer need my "upgrade" pack anymore.
Can't wait to get my new computer build up and running...my new Acer 23" LED LCD monitor blew up, though. Lol I am having a ton of bad luck lately. XD
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#8
Unread 10th March 2013, 11:18 AM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
And as far as the HDD issue, that's what I thought and will have that fixed later this evening. First...time for bed. Thanks for all the help, Ollin!
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
#9
Unread 11th March 2013, 03:53 PM
Remacno's Avatar
Remacno Remacno is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goose Creek,SC
Posts: 143
Send a message via MSN to Remacno
Alright. Problem solved. Now to focus on fixing my computer. Got the copy of Win 7 CE so I can now install without an activation prompt.
__________________
Cameron Greene
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 PM.

Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Remove advertisements

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter