Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum Right Header

Go Back Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum > Software > Games

Games This is why you bought your computer, and you know it. Discuss games here.

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Unread 16th August 2010, 01:50 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
Mafia 2 Demo Disables Antialiasing on ATI Radeon Video Cards

I've just installed the demo from Steam onto a computer using the Radeon HD 5870. The first thing I did was go into video settings and ensure that PhysX was turned off, and antialiasing was turned on. All other settings were turn on to high.

The built-in benchmark delivered 85 FPS on average, and the graphics looked meh. It seemed like maybe I missed a setting somewhere, so I returned to video options. When I did, antialiasing was turned off. So I turned it on, and ran the benchmark again. Same results.

Again, I visited the options and looked at the video settings. For some reason, the antialiasing keeps turning itself off. Is anyone else seeing this issue?
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
#2
Unread 16th August 2010, 03:23 PM
Servando Silva's Avatar
Servando Silva Servando Silva is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: México
Posts: 220
There's a "forced" way to enable AA with Nvidia cards but I don't think there's a path for ATI yet.
Just if you want to try with NVIDIA, what you need to do is:
Quote:
For reference, gotta disable AA in the game settings, exit game, go to Nvidia Control Panel and under 'Manage 3D Settings' select 'Clive Barker's Jericho'.

Set up something like:
Antialiasing - Mode: Override
Antialiasing - Setting: 2x
Antialiasing - Transparency: 4x (supersample)

Copy the file Mafia2.exe found in \Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\mafia ii - public demo\pc to a Jericho.exe (or just rename), make sure Steam is running, and start Jericho.exe.
Source.

I've looked for any other responses in many forums but didn't find any solution for ATI GPUs at the moment.
Perhaps, you could contact ATI and hear if they have a hotfix or something.
Reply With Quote
#3
Unread 16th August 2010, 03:34 PM
Olin Coles's Avatar
Olin Coles Olin Coles is offline
Executive Editor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,951
So the demo doesn't normally allow AA?
__________________
You can follow Benchmark Reviews on Facebook and Twitter!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte UD5 rev 2 Two video cards, non sli? Doug Dallam Computer System Hardware 13 31st October 2010 10:47 PM
Mafia-II Video Game Review and FPS Performance Olin Coles Article & Review Forum 0 23rd August 2010 11:11 AM
RV770 Ruby Demo DarkElfa General Software Forum 0 8th July 2008 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Remove advertisements

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter