Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum Right Header

Go Back Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum > Hardware > Overclockers Lounge

Overclockers Lounge Post your projects and results in this section.

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1
Unread 1st February 2010, 09:16 PM
koaladoraemon koaladoraemon is offline
Kilobyte
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
Asus P6T Resume from S3 State Hang issue

I have an overclocked Core i7920 on an ASUS P6t. My specs:

My Current specs:
Core i7920 on Asus P6t running at a comfortable 4.0Ghz-Prime 95 stable

Ai overclock:Manual
Cpu ratio:20
Speedstep:On
Turbo:Off
Bclock:200mhz
PciE:100mhz
Dram ClockDDR3-1564 Mhz
CPU Voltage:1.35
CPU PLL Voltage:Auto
QPI/DRAM voltage:Auto
DRAM Bus voltage:1.64
All other voltages:Auto

Load Line Callibration:Enabled
Cpu Diff Amp:Auto
Spread Spectrumsisabled
Clock Skews:Auto

Ram Timings: 8-8-8-20 on Kingston HyperX Kit 6gb [3x2gb]

Model: KHX1280D3LK36GX

Asus P6t Bios: ver 0603 19/5/2009

The system is stable during prime 95 runs and gaming, I've never had a BSOD during either one. It hangs during a game very rarely, and i'm talking about once in about 40 hrs of gaming. I'd say its stable enough in that respect.

The thing is sometimes the system occasionally hangs when it resumes from a S3 state. When i reboot it, ASUS CPR kicks in, and the BIOS settings are reset, no issue here, i just select my previous settings and proceed and the system boots up fne with all my oveclocked settings. On the ASUS website they have bios ver 0603(same as mine) which specifically adresses this issue. One difference is their BIOS is dated 25/5/2009 while mine is dated 19/5/2009. Version numbers are identical though.

Should i re-flash my current BIOS to the BIOS on the ASUS website? As i said before, the version numbers are identical, but mine is dated one week later than the one posted on ASUS's website. Any possible difference in the BIOS's?

I'm unwilling to risk a unnecessary mobo bios flash. But if i do it, what's the best method. Flashing from a USB flash drive with the CrashFree BIOS utility?

Has anyone else had a similar problem. Any workarounds?
Reply With Quote
#2
Unread 1st February 2010, 09:52 PM
Servando Silva's Avatar
Servando Silva Servando Silva is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: México
Posts: 220
I had similar problems with a Giigabyte board.
Everything was ok but once it entered S3 state it won´t come out and if I rebooted system detected OC error and erased BIOS settings. Nevermind, I didn´t fought with this since I don´t use those states ever.

About the Flashing Mode, I think the safest is via USB & BIOS utility.
Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
#3
Unread 2nd February 2010, 04:49 AM
koaladoraemon koaladoraemon is offline
Kilobyte
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
I checked under performance information and tools and theres a driver listed which is supposedly preventing windows from loading up quickly. Info below:

StartTime 2010-01-17T00:55:10.085503800Z

NameLength 15

Name \Driver\WUDFRd

FriendlyNameLength 65

FriendlyName Windows Driver Foundation - User-mode Driver Framework Reflector

VersionLength 38

Version 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255)

TotalTime 2814

DegradationTime 2414

PathLength 39

Path C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\WUDFRd.sys

ProductNameLength 37

ProductName Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
The devices this driver serves are the family USB universal host/ enhanced host
controllers and my ATI RADEON 5850 Graphics card.

Advanced Tools in windows 7 under the performance information and tools recommends i remove this driver if i'm no longer using it as it is causing performance issues: i.e
This driver is preventing windows from 'resuming from a suspend state' ( I paraphrase roughly here).

There's an option to 'remove from list'. Should i go with that?
Reply With Quote
#4
Unread 2nd February 2010, 04:56 AM
koaladoraemon koaladoraemon is offline
Kilobyte
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
I forgot to ask Servando, How did you 'not' use the S3 State?

In the Asus P6T BIOS, the setting options for Suspend Mode are:

S1 (POS) Only
S3 Only
Auto

Should i change this to S1?
Reply With Quote
#5
Unread 2nd February 2010, 12:40 PM
Servando Silva's Avatar
Servando Silva Servando Silva is offline
Gigabyte
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: México
Posts: 220
No, I just don´t leave my PC doing "nothing" turned on all the time. So I just went to windows power options and selected "never sleep" mode. Whenever I don´t want to use my PC I just turn it off.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7 S3 sleep/resume missing drives Doug Dallam Computer System Hardware 7 22nd August 2010 11:13 PM
Redirect Issue Daryl Greene General Software Forum 2 28th January 2010 01:30 AM
Weird formatting issue XJnine Site Discussion 1 13th January 2010 11:10 AM
Solid State Drive (SSD) Benchmark Performance Testing Olin Coles Article & Review Forum 38 6th February 2009 03:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 PM.

Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Remove advertisements

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter